With Love, Magi

gift“This is a collectible piece of jewellery sir.” The salesman’s eyes widened with fascinated pleasure. “In fact, to call it jewellery is to diminish its value. It is a jewel! A gem of an ornament! 24 carat true gold, a tailor made beauty.” He winked and added “A select item. Worth every penny.”

My eyes gazed around the showroom, my attention was uncaptured by the beauty of these treasures and charms. Their bling failed to amuse me. My eyes rummaged for something much richer, more soulful, something worth you. The charisma of such precious stones and gems, the brilliant gold and undaunted royal silver seemed so very little to win your heart.  You are way above all of this.

Over the years that I have spent with you, I have come to know how you define beauty; I have understood that the lure of expensive presents is nothing to you. For you, beauty has a much deeper connotation. Not something as temporary as this.

Yet the salesman was not akin to my predicament; he dismissed my bemusement for displeasure and immediately wiped the counter clean of the locket.

“Hmm,” He analysed cases within his money-afflicted brain, constantly cross checking for a better sales pitch. “Your lady does not seem like a person for such valuable gold and silver. I think I know just the thing you need!”

My eyes broadened, and I gapped with rapture, my mind snapping to attention.

Diamonds!” He exclaimed.

The twit of a salesmen walked across the counter to the other end of the gigantic showroom. “Your lady seems just the one for diamonds!”

I vanished within my own thoughts once again – subdued, disappointed and clueless. “We have the best collection of diamonds! The newest and finest ones…Believe me! Nothing can please a woman more.” His voice eroded my musings like a serial comma and then dissolved into the background again as he hopped from one glass shelf to the other and I turned away chronically apathetic.

I wished to gift you the best present I could – the most expensive, the largest, the finest, the most superlative present a man can buy a woman. Yet even with endless money at my disposal, I had never felt poorer.

I was the head of the largest business tycoon in the country – I could have painted the entire globe with money and still have spared major dollars.  Yet ironically no treasure, no endearing pearl, no amount of money spent could have sufficed – it would have been nothing but a bundle of unpassionate outlay. Today, even if you would have adorned the stars with a price-tag, they wouldn’t have made a gift fit enough for a person with your soul.

If I were to take a more quixotic vein, then I’d say that the sparkle in your eyes could beat the glimmer of the most expensive jewellery in this showroom by a thousand light-years.

So, depressed and with a sad heart, I succumbed to my first instinct and left the showroom for the book store – knowing nothing would make you happier – for being the girl you are, you’d prize the gift of words over priceless diamonds.

9 thoughts on “With Love, Magi

  1. This is absolutely awesome creative writing, Nikita! I especially love the bit where you wrote “His voice eroded my musings like a serial comma …”, it’s so graphic and literally explains how much the character was being irritated by the salesman.

    I also adore and can actually relate to the fact that she was definitely likely to appreciate books rather than jewellery.

    I look forward to your next posts and have started reading your old ones.

    Your’e an amazing writer! Keep it up!

  2. hey! You seem much deeper in your own thoughts. Did you ever asked her? Buddy go and ask her, what she want? Every woman is not same; its not easy to fathom them but seems like that your woman need your love, care and time rather than your money. Find the way to woo her if you really love her. Anyway love will find the way!!!

Leave a Reply

